Happy Holidays and Monday’s Meeting Reminder

We hope you’ll join us for an hors d oeuvre potluck and interesting meeting this Monday, Dec. 14th. Consider inviting a friend or an acquaintance from your marina. We’ll hear from Christine Palmerton,  founder of the nautical product company, NautiGirl, who will share her tale of defending her corporate name from the nautical product giant Nautica. She’ll also bring some NautiGirl products (mugs, T Shirts, etc) that could make interesting holiday gifts. We’ll be there early for socializing between 6 to 7 if you can make it, but come when you can.

Vivian and I want to thank you for your ongoing enjoyment and support of Northwest Women in Boating. We wish you all a relaxed and pleasant Holiday season. Here’s a piece I wrote some years back with a little truth here and there, for some of us, amidst the humor.

On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me…

our first boat and a rubber dinghy.

 

On the second day of Christmas, my skipper gave to me…

two completed surveys on

our boat and its rubber dinghy.

 

On the third day of Christmas, my skipper gave to me…

three little problems from the

two completed surveys on

our boat and its rubber dinghy.

 

On the fourth day of Christmas, my skipper gave to me…

four repair guys working on the

three little problems from the

two completed surveys on

our boat and its rubber dinghy.

 

On the fifth day of Christmas, my skipper gave to me…

five more needed repairs….. found by the

four repair guys working on the

three initial problems from the two completed surveys on

the boat and its rubber dinghy.

 

On the sixth day of Christmas, my skipper gave to me…

six yards of tarp to cover the

five additional problems…..found by the

four repair guys working on the

three initial problems from the

two completed surveys on

that boat and its rubber dinghy.

 

On the seventh day of Christmas, my skipper installed for me…

seven expensive gadgets under the

six yards of tarp that covered the

five additional problems…..found by the

four repair guys working on the

three initial problems from the

two completed surveys on

THAT BOAT and its rubber dinghy.

 

On the eighth day of Christmas, my skipper gave to me…

eight anger management classes cause I lost it over the

seven expensive gadgets under the

six yards of tarp that covered the

five still unrepaired problems…..found by the

four repair guys working on the

three initial problems from the

two completed surveys on

the darned boat and its rubber dinghy.

 

On the ninth day of Christmas, my skipper gave to me…

nine lists for cruising after my

eight anger management classes cause I lost it over the

seven expensive gadgets under the

six yards of tarp that covered the

five still unrepaired problems…..found by the

four repair guys working on the

three initial problems from the

two completed surveys on

THAT DARNED BOAT and its rubber dinghy.

 

On the tenth day of Christmas, my skipper gave to me…

ten charts to study as I gathered the

nine lists for cruising after my

eight anger management classes cause I lost it over the

seven expensive gadgets under the

six yards of tarp that covered the

five still unrepaired problems…..found by the

four repair guys working on the

three initial problems from the

two completed surveys on

that #!%#! boat and its rubber dinghy.

 

On the eleventh day of Christmas my skipper gave to me…

eleven hours of frustration, trying to read the ten navigational charts while I stowed the

nine lists of things and practiced my

eight anger management classes but still fumed over the

seven expensive gadgets under the

six yards of tarp that had covered the

five now somewhat repaired problems…..found by the

four repair guys working on the

three initial problems from the

two completed surveys on

that #!%#! boat and its rubber dinghy.

 

On the twelfth day of Christmas my skipper give to me…

twelve glorious days of cruising where I forgot the

eleven hours of frustration and learned to read the

ten navigational charts and used the

nine lists of things and didn’t need my

eight anger management classes and had a ball with the

seven expensive gadgets and stowed the

six yards of tarp which had covered the

five now mostly repaired problems…..found by the

four repair guys working on the

three initial problems from the

two completed surveys on our Wonderful boat and its,

Oh No! sinking dinghy.

Copyright 2001 Marilyn Michael
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Holidays and Monday’s Meeting Reminder

  1. fsw@torchlake.com says:

    This is absolutely fabulous! Thank you so much. I’m going to print it out and give it to my repair guys who have been working on my 40 year old Cal 2 since September rebuilding everything surrounding the engine! I’m also going to put it up on her to help keep my sense of humor. Happy Holidays to all.

    Faith and S/V Miikinoc in Bellingham

Leave a Reply

